A Classical Bedtime, Series 2 Episode 2

Episode synopsis

(2/10) Northern Europe: We’re back for a second series of abject commentary and lovely music. Join us as we start of in the north of this fine continent, exploring the range of styles on offer and revisiting David’s favourite conductor Neeme Järvi yet again…

Series synopsis

I, Isaac, wanted an excuse (as a proud Northerner) to drink ginger-infused tea by becoming a member of the upper-middle class. Keoni (a pensioner) wants to feel young again by utilising the vast array of “youf’” words he’s learned at university to abuse me from the sidelines every time I make a mistake. Together, we will undoubtedly make a bedtime show with the singular potential to lull anyone to sleep – but only when we’re talking… (Oh, and David’s here, too.)


Halvorsen: Entry March of the BoyarsGothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Neeme Järvi21:05
Leifs: RequiemMotet Choir of the Hallgrím’s Church, En Shao21:12
Faroese Traditional – StædelilDanish String Quartet21:18
Aho: Symphony No 12, “Luosto Symphony” – I. Šamaanit (The Shamans)Taina Piira, Aki Alamikkotervo, Hannu Lehtonen, Chamber Orchestra of Lapland, Lahti Symphony Orchestra, John Storgårds21:23
Holberg Suite, Op.40: II. Sarabande (Andante)Edvard Grieg21:38
Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op 16 – I. Allegro molto moderatoNoriko Ogawa, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud21:45
Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten (Arvo Pärt)Münchner Rundfunkorchester22:03
Stenhammar: Serenade in F, Op 31 – IV. Notturno. Andante sostenutoGothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Neeme Järvi22:13
Wirén: Serenade, Op 11 – 4. MarciaGothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Neeme Järvi22:20
Ešenvalds: Northern Lights “Cik naksnīnas pret ziemeli”Trinity College Choir Cambridge, Stephen Layton22:26
Pelēcis: Concertino bianco – I. Con intenerimentoTamara-Anna Cislowska, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Johannes Fritzsch22:33
Lumbye: Copenhagen Steam Railway GalopGothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Neeme Järvi22:42
Nielsen: Symphony No 4, Op 29 “The Inextinguishable” – IV. AllegroGöteborgs Symfoniker, Neeme Järvi22:47
2 Hebrew Pieces, Op. 35: No. 2. Lullaby (arr. L. Auer for violin and piano)Duo Edan22:56

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s